Comparison

UNIHAND hand warmer comparison

You have narrowed it to a few kinds of hand warmer and want the figures side by side. Each maker publishes its own heat, hours, size and weight, and those numbers show where the others beat us as plainly as where we lead.

Four warmers, three ways of making heat

We set the UNIHAND pair against three warmers whose makers publish their figures. The HotHands pack heats by a chemical reaction once air reaches it. The Zippo 12-Hour Refillable burns lighter fuel on a catalytic burner. The Zippo HeatBank 9s, like ours, runs on a lithium-ion battery.

The numbers measure slightly different things. HotHands gives an average temperature, Zippo gives a top temperature for the HeatBank, and we give a range for each of our levels. Read each one as that maker's own figure for its own warmer.

Against an air-activated pack

HotHands rates its packs at up to 10 hours, averaging 135 °F. That average is above our top level of 130 °F, and a pack needs no outlet, no cable and no planning. HotHands also says its packs stay shelf-stable for several years, so a box can wait in the car for the next storm.

The pack has no setting and no off switch. The Weather Network explains that it runs until its ingredients are spent, and the HotHands instructions send a used one to the regular trash. A UNIHAND unit switches off when you go inside and runs again the next morning on the same charge.

Against the Zippo refillable

Zippo rates its 12-Hour Refillable at up to 12 hours from one fill. At 3.9 x 2.6 x 0.5 inches and 0.16 lb, it weighs about the same as one of our units. It needs no electricity, which counts for a lot on a trip far from an outlet.

The trade is the routine. You fill it with lighter fuel, light the burner and keep it in its fabric bag, as Zippo's help pages explain. TSA does not allow lighter fluid in carry-on or checked bags, so the fuel stays home when you fly. The FAA allows most battery-powered personal devices in carry-on bags, and that is where our pair travels.

Against the HeatBank and other rechargeables

The HeatBank 9s heats on both sides up to 120 °F, with six settings and up to 9 hours, according to Zippo. It can also charge USB devices, which ours does not claim to do. It is one unit, 4.88 x 2.38 x 0.95 inches and 0.35 lb.

Our box holds two units of 0.15 lb each, with three levels up to 130 °F and an up-to figure of 20 hours on Low. Other rechargeable warmers each publish their own levels and hours, so compare them on those published figures and on whether you want one unit or two.

Where the others come out ahead

A pack wins when there is no way to charge, on a one-off cold day, or when you want to hand heat to a stranger you will not see again. Its published average heat is also the highest of the four.

The Zippo refillable wins on a long trip without power, as long as you carry fuel and do not fly. The HeatBank wins if you want one device that warms your hands and tops up your phone, or if you like six steps of heat instead of three.

Where the UNIHAND pair fits

The pair suits a winter made of many cold stretches, each with a warm room at the end of it. You get two warmers you can split or join, heat you can switch off, and the longest published run of the four, on Low.

For the full argument, with a season of use counted out, read our article on rechargeable vs disposable hand warmers, or go straight to the UNIHAND pair.

Published figures from each maker's own product page
UNIHAND pairHotHands packZippo 12-Hour RefillableZippo HeatBank 9s
Heat sourceLithium batteryAir-activated iron mixLighter fuel, catalytic burnerLithium-ion battery
Highest heat stated130 °F135 °F averageNot stated120 °F
Longest run statedUp to 20 hours on LowUp to 10 hoursUp to 12 hoursUp to 9 hours
Heat settings3NoneNot stated6
Units in the box21 pair of packs11
Size of one unit3.46 x 1.84 x 0.79 inNot stated3.9 x 2.6 x 0.5 in4.88 x 2.38 x 0.95 in
Weight of one unit0.15 lbNot stated0.16 lb0.35 lb
Charges a phoneNot claimedNoNoYes, USB devices

The pairs on this page are part of the UNIHAND range, and the four colors above were picked for comparison. Compare them side by side.

A couple at a snowy Christmas market with a white UNIHAND warmer

Questions

UNIHAND hand warmer comparison: questions

Is a UNIHAND warmer hotter than a HotHands pack?

No. HotHands publishes an average of 135 °F for its packs, and our High level tops out at 130 °F. What the pair adds is control, with three levels and an off switch, plus heat you can recharge.

How does the UNIHAND pair compare with the Zippo HeatBank 9s?

The HeatBank is one unit with six settings, up to 120 °F and up to 9 hours, and it charges USB devices. Our box gives you two lighter units, three levels up to 130 °F, and up to 20 hours on Low.

Can you take a UNIHAND warmer on a plane like a pack?

Yes, by a different rule. TSA allows hand warmers in carry-on and checked bags, and the FAA allows battery devices like ours in carry-on. Lighter fluid for a refillable warmer is not allowed in either bag.

When should you choose packs over the UNIHAND pair?

Choose packs for a week without power, a single cold event, or heat you want to give away. They need no charging and run up to 10 hours from the moment you open them.

A Blue Grey UNIHAND hand warmer held by an outdoor fire

Ten colors, one pair

Pick the color that goes in your pocket

Every UNIHAND box holds two warmers that work apart or join into one, with the USB-⁠C cable to charge both.